

# **NIGERIAN BAR ASSOCIATION**

NATIONAL SECRETARIAT: Plot 1102, Muhammed Buhari Way, Cadastral Zone A00, Central Business District, Abuja Nigerian Tel: +234 800 333 1111 www.nigerianbar.org.ng

### 1 NOVEMBER 2022

## FLOOD DISASTER RELEASE II

## NIGERIAN BAR ASSOCIATION (NBA) FLOOD DISASTER RELIEF COMMITTEE

We are all aware that, for several weeks now, many parts of the nation have been experiencing flooding. The flood has ravaged towns and villages in Kogi, Anambra, Delta, Benue, Niger, Bayelsa, Cross River, Rivers, Nasarawa, Katsina and Jigawa States. Countless lives and properties were lost in this monumental environmental disaster. For many of those directly affected, including our colleagues in the ravaged cities, towns, and villages, it has left permanent scars in their lives. As I mentioned in my earlier statement, many of our colleagues have lost their houses and belongings or cannot access their homes and offices which remain flooded, thereby bringing their practices to a grinding halt.

As an organisation, we have a duty to look after ourselves and we MUST, as a matter of urgency, take steps towards alleviating the sufferings of our colleagues who are affected by this disaster.

Consequently, and further to my Statement of 24 October 2022, issued to the Chairmen of Branches regarding the flood, I am pleased to announce the constitution of the NBA Flood Disaster Relief Committee to be chaired by Mallam Yusuf Olaolu Ali, SAN, FCIArb(UK). The Committee is constituted pursuant to Section 14(4) of the Constitution of the Nigerian Bar Association, subject to ratification by the National Executive Council (NEC). The full list of the members of the Committee is as follows:

- 1. Mallam Yusuf Olaolu Ali, SAN CHAIRMAN
- 2. Chief (Mrs.) Anayo Justina Offiah, SAN ALTERNATE CHAIRMAN
- 3. Nnamdi Ibegbu, SAN
- 4. Miannaya Essien, SAN
- 5. Dorothy Udeme Ufot, SAN
- 6. Kenneth E. Mozia, SAN
- 7. Mr Tunde Adejuvigbe, SAN
- 8. Dr Adewale A. Olawoyin, SAN
- 9. Dr Muiz Adeyemi Banire, SAN
- 10. Abdulhakeem U. Mustapha, SAN
- 11. Kehinde Ogunwumiju, SAN
- 12. Prof Oluyemisi Bamgbose, SAN
- 13. Sir Stephen O. Z. Adehi, SAN
- 14. Prof Offornze D. Amucheazi, SAN
- 15. Oladipo A. Olasope, SAN
- 16. Usman Ogwu Sule, SAN
- 17. Godwin O. Omoaka, SAN
- 18. Emeka O. Ozoani, SAN

#### NATIONAL OFFICERS:

- 19. F. Boma Ayomide Alabi, SAN
- 20. Ndanusa M. S. Katu, SAN
- 21. Yakubu A. H. Ruba, SAN
- 22. Kemasuode Wodu, SAN
- 23. Peter Adogbejire Mrakpor, SAN
- 24. Aisha Ado Abdullahi
- 25. Daniel Kip SECRETARY

By Section 9(5)(e)(vii) of the NBA Constitution, the General Secretary, Mr Adesina Adegbite, is an ex officio member of this Committee. I have also co-opted the National Treasurer (Caroline Anze Bishop) and National Welfare Secretary (Chinyere Obasi), who are members of the Secretariat Management Committee (SMC) by Section 14(2)(j)(i) of the NBA Constitution, to serve on the Committee. The following staff of the National Secretariat will provide administrative support to the Committee from time to time, as may be required:

- 1) Grace Igyo Head, Bar Services Department
- 2) Martha Omolade Bar Services Department

The Committee has the mandate to raise funds from members of the NBA and other public-spirited individuals and institutions, and to utilise the same in alleviating the sufferings of our members who have been severely affected by the ravaging flood. In addition to raising funds, the Committee will have the responsibility of designing the most equitable and integrity-proof model for identifying the beneficiaries of the relief materials/funds and determining the form and value of the relief to be given to these beneficiaries.

I thank all members of the Committee for graciously accepting to serve the Association and its members in this capacity, despite their very busy schedules. I do not take either their acceptance to serve or their service, which entails great sacrifices from each of them, for granted. The Association owes them a debt of gratitude.

I look forward to working with them on this Committee, and we will keep members of the Bar consistently updated on the progress of the Committee's work.

Yakubu Chonoko Maikyau, OON, SAN

**PRESIDENT**